A Soul Longing For More

http://juliemeyer.com/jmfiles/imagecache/jmedium/category_pictures/longing.jpg

From the album Longing for the Day, by Julie Meyer.

As with the last study I find that I am stuck between two topics for this weeks bloghop.  This is the first week of P31 Ministries online bible study, What Happens When Women Say Yes To God. A book written by Lysa TerKeurst. Each week we are given several topics that we can choose from to do our blog entry.  This week I was stuck between ‘A soul Longing for More‘ and ‘#yestoGod‘.

But the title I chose had the instructions:

On page 14 Lysa talks about how we’ve become “so familiar with God yet so unaware.” Our soul truly does long for a richer experience. What are some action steps you can take each day to become more aware of God’s presence? How can you intentionally pursue God even in the middle of “life’s mundane activities?”

I chose that because it made me want to choose the #yestoGod one. My post today will be about why that has everything to do with the steps I need to take each day to become more aware of God’s presence.

From the moment I met Christ in 1997 my Christian walk has been about having a real and spiritually sensitive relationship with God. And I could tell you that story, because it was about listening to him in a mundane life where I was depressed and suicidal.  Or when I was baptized and He literally saved my life, with his still small voice, from dying in a car crash on a rural highway.  Or the times, when like Lysa, that He said to give away my beloved bible, for His purpose, and there were amazing testimonies that came out of it.

But all those things are just exactly what my focus should be on when my soul is longing for more.  Because those times when I was so in need, whether I knew it or not, and I focused on the only one who could give me direction, He did.  Or when the situation called for something I never would have come up with myself, God called me to do something that only He would think of.  Every time it was with my focus on God and my heart open to His voice.  It happened in my dreams, it happened driving in my car, in bible study, at my kitchen sink, and even in the thrift store, lol.

When my soul is longing for more it is because I have filled my life up so much with me, and what I want, that there is on room for what God wants.  No time, no space, and sometimes even no desire.  But that doesn’t stop the soul for longing for more because with the Holy Spirit inside me I know that connection is a life line.

So if I can remember and refocus on those times when God spoke power and grace into my life, and into the lives of others through me, I can again remember what I need to do to find what my soul is longing for. To be how I was, with God, in those moments.

This verse reminds me of the importance of having every aspect focused where it should be.  Because if you are running your life with any of the others and forgetting the soul your going to run into trouble and forget the foundation that Christ layed within you.

Mark 12:30 – Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.

Lord, Thank you for helping me to remember who you have been in my life.  That it is just a minor reflection of who you are and what you can do.  I pray that I can be more sensitive and aware of you in my every day and that when I wake up in the morning I will remember to surrender my day to you by saying “Yes God, your will and not my own.” I pray that you will use this post to do your will in the lives of others.  In Jesus name, Amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Soul Longing For More

  1. faithful girl says:

    Reblogged this on faith tometi.

  2. Loved you beautiful blog today. Thank you, thank you for sharing. So glad we are in this study together and at first this week I could not pick a subject. Started writing – nothing. But yesterday at 4 God said do all four and I said I can’t do 1. I sit down and by 9 last night I had most of it done but could not get thru the proofreading and pictures until today. YES as you prayed His will and not ours. Debbie W. (OBS Facebook Group Leader)

Leave a Reply

