StressedLess…

new meSo we are done.  Done with the study StressedLess.  And yes, I am just about a week late writing this post.  I don’t know if this has been a victory, but there was a time in my life where I would have been on time or not at all.  Some how in my 43 years with life, constantly coming upon road blocks, I am learning to “choose what is better.” Often when it came to choosing the Lord or life I would just assume life was the necessary choice.  But I am finding that it is not.  One of the blog hop choices was the Mary/Martha (Luke 10:38-42) story to map, (basically break it down to the smaller meanings), the verse in 41-42.  I didn’t feel that was to be my choice, but when we covered this passage in the book it resounded in my heart and has continued to be a verse that has dug at me this year.

I chose the topic of: StressedLess. What is the biggest, most life-changing lesson you have learned from Tracie’s book and this online study? Why would you recommend this book to your friends and family?

The most life changing lesson I have learned from this study goes back to the fact that I blamed the things and people I could not control for the condition of my life.  But when I looked in the spiritual mirror I saw that “me” was often the problem.  I applied what God said to what everyone else should be doing and how life should be, but was not walking in such a way that would justify that conclusion.  I was trying to make God and his word work with my version of life.  I am sure we all do it at some time.  But having been a Christian for 16 years I lost sight of my first love and my focus turned back on myself.  Even in my effort to care for everyone (uhum, MARTHA) it was still about what I wanted to do.  So I have been sitting at his feet, not feeling the same drive to seek what I want, and when I have I have found the Lord, who has a more active role in my decision-making, will redirect me and show me what is important when I lose sight.

I got much more than that.  I look back through all the posts I made each week and one thing resonated each week, “This week was tough, tougher than the last, the toughest.”  God made sure I had practical experience for each thing I was learning.  I don’t know that I “liked” that, but I see the necessity of it and am thankful for what has come out of it.

Every situation and relationship that I shared has had some form of healing, and it has not been how I envisioned it, but that tells me that it is true to how God would have it.  I have a long way to go still, but I am seeing a reflection in the mirror that has different goals and paths because God wants me somewhere and to be someone, not because I do.

Keep praying for me.  This month I will be starting the new study, What Happens When Women Say Yes to God by Lysa TerKeurst.  What a leap from where I was 12 weeks ago?

Dear Lord, Lifting my life to you, all I have and all I am.  Please continue to guide me, heal me, restore to me a heart that reflects you completely.  I love you Lord.  I thank you for all you are and all you do. Praises to you! In Jesus Name, Amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to StressedLess…

  1. Awesome. Love this!! Makes me think of Michelangelo’s quote about chiseling away at a statue until he created a masterpiece: “I saw the angel in the marble and carved until I set him free.” God is carving away at each of us and it’s amazing to see Him at work!

  2. faithful girl says:

    Reblogged this on faith tometi.

Leave a Reply

