Falling Down: Breaking Point

ImageI wrote this before I read ten, but how fitting. God knew what he was doing.
This has been a tough two weeks. Needless to say my study has fallen behind with me not even having finished chapter 9 yet. But the one thing I got out of it, and the encouragement of other studiers, was to just speak out Jesus as I was going through these rough waters. And somethings that means laying flat on your face and speaking it into the ground. And you don’t always end up there out of humility. Sometimes it is because you trip and fall first. But the humility comes once you hit the floor.

How can my God keep wanting to pursue me when I am such a failing example of becoming Christ-like? This thought kept haunting me. Because one day He will just get tired and stop. There are plenty of fish in the sea, errr… I mean people in the world.

The hardest part when you’re just sick and tired is to try and take those thoughts captive and refocus. On a day that was exactly that I cried out for help. I prayed, I posted a plea to be prayed for, and I waited. I was just too tired to try and choose what to do next. One of my fellow studiers wrote to me and said, “Just keep saying Jesus, Jesus, Jesus.”

Now for those who are new Christians, not Christians, or don’t study the bible much that may not make sense. And yes, there is even controversy among Christians as to the full understanding of the power in the name of Jesus, but this is what I believe.

The bible says in Mark 16:

What Jesus’ Followers Must Do

14 Afterwards, Jesus appeared to his eleven disciples as they were eating. He scolded them because they were too stubborn to believe the ones who had seen him after he had been raised to life. 15 Then he told them:

Go and preach the good news to everyone in the world. 16 Anyone who believes me and is baptized will be saved. But anyone who refuses to believe me will be condemned.17 Everyone who believes me will be able to do wonderful things. By using my name they will force out demons, and they will speak new languages. 18 They will handle snakes and will drink poison and not be hurt. They will also heal sick people by placing their hands on them.

And there is a song that says:

In the name of Jesus, in the name of Jesus,
We have the victory. Hallelujah!
In the name of Jesus, in the name of Jesus,
Satan will have to flee.

When we stand in the name of Jesus,
Tell me who can stand against us.
In the mighty name of Jesus,
We have the victory.
Who can tell what God can do.
Who can tell his love for you.
When we stand in the name of Jesus,
We have the victory.

In the name of Jesus,
In the name of Jesus
We have the victory,
In the name of Jesus,
In the name of Jesus
Demons will have to flee,
When we stand on the name of Jesus
Tell me who can stand before,
In the mighty name of Jesus,
We have the victory.

These things ran through my mind when I read her words. I know I am in a spiritual battle. My battle seems to always be in my humanity, but God says our battle is also going on in the spiritual word. So I did. I spent several days in bed, many just making it through the day, but I kept saying Jesus. I kept trusting in him. That is what that really means. Having faith that even as I walk through the valley that he is with me. And this morning, I feel like I am finally stronger and at a place where I can resume some normality in life. So I am going to try and catch up on the study, but not so fast that I will lose the lesson. So I may not make it back to the blog hop pace, or I may be able to. That is to be seen. But my faith is unshakable even if I can only call on Jesus. That is how it started for me in this walk with Him and it may be how it ends. But for now we will see what still fills up the life between.

Dear Jesus,

Thank you for this life Lord and help me to live it with your name always on my tongue. Help me to remember to use what you have given me in your word to get past this breaking point, and each breaking point, with the tools and weapons you have graciously given.  I love you Lord.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Falling Down: Breaking Point

  1. faithful girl says:

    Reblogged this on faith tometi.

Leave a Reply

